La Palabre: Ré-imaginer le passé

14.06.2024 Building a Decolonial Library

Essen und Diskussionen, in deutscher und englischer Sprache, Berlin Global Village, Am Sudhaus 2, 12053 Berlin. Read more

Read more

LES YEUX DE L'EAU - AUSSTELLUNG @GAEC–Africa, Saint-Louis

18.05.2024 - 31.05.2024

Als Partner bei der Entwicklung des TALKING OBJECTS ARCHIVS befasst sich das Projekt « Esprit des Objets - Objets des Esprit » von GAEC mit einer für das TALKING OBJECTS ARCHIV kuratierten Sammlung westafrikanischer Objekte aus dem Musée Théodore Monod (Dakar). Im Rahmen des Projekts richtet GAEC die Ausstellung « Les yeux de l'eau » ein, die am 18. Mai in Saint Louis eröffnet wird. Am 21. und 22. Mai finden Workshops über Objekte und ihre Kosmologien statt, an denen das TALKING OBJECTS-Team, Nachbar*innen, Künstler*innen und Denker*innen teilnehmen. Read more

Read more

RÉ-IMAGINER LE PASSÉ

24.3.2024 - 28.7.2024

Welche Zukünfte sind aus der gemeinsamen Geschichte möglich? Welche Vergangenheiten haben es verdient erzählt zu werden? Wie können Wissensbestände heute hinterfragt werden? Und warum ist Wissen eine Konstruktion von Weltordnungen? Dies sind die Ausgangsfragen des Projekts Ré-imaginer le passé. Read more

Read more
Decolonize Essay Talk Exhibition

READING SESSION with C& Center of Unfinished Business

READING SESSION mit dem C& Center of Unfinished Business. Moderiert von Celina Baljeet Basra, im KINDL – Zentrum für zeitgenössische Kunst (in der Ausstellung Re-imaginer le passé, M2). Freitag, 26. April, 18:00 h, Am Sudhaus 3, Berlin-Neukölln. In Deutsch und Englisch. Freier Eintritt. Read more

Read more
Performance/Artistic Intervention Decolonize

OBEAH: resurrection

OBEAH: resurrection. Performance von Nathalie Anguezomo Mba Bikoro im KINDL – Zentrum für zeitgenössische Kunst (M0). Mittwoch, 3. April, 19.00 h, Am Sudhaus 3, Berlin-Neukölln. In Englisch. Freier Eintritt. Read more

Read more
Decolonize Exhibition Talk

The Concept of the Imaginary

Gespräche mit den Künstler*innen und Kurator*innen der Ausstellung Ré-imaginer le passé im KINDL – Museum für zeitgenössische Kunst, Sonntag, 24. März, 14.30-16.30 h, Am Sudhaus 3, Berlin-Neukölln. Freier Eintritt. Read more

Read more
Decolonize Knowledge

LA PALABRE #4 - LEARNING LESSONS

20. Oktober 2023, 18.00 h, @Vierte Welt, Kottbusser Tor. Für die Reihe »LA PALABRE« laden wir von Juli-Dezember 2023 Berliner Forscher*innen, Künstler*innen und Aktivist*innen ein, über die Themen zu diskutieren, mit denen wir uns in den letzten zwei Jahren im Rahmen von TALKING OBJECTS, einem… Read more

Read more
Decolonize Memory Performance/Artistic Intervention Talk

Interaktives Temporäres Denkmal

Das TALKING OBJECTS LAB ist eingeladen, ein temporäres Denkmal am Kottbusser Tor in Berlin zu schaffen und eine Litfaßsäule zu bespielen. 26. APRIL - 5. MAI 2022. Read more

Read more
Talk Performance/Artistic Intervention Objects (Re-Evaluation) Decolonize

PROGRAMM PREVIEW 2022

Beginnend mit einem interaktiven temporären Denkmal am Kottbusser Tor, werden die vielstimmigen Projekte des Talking Objects Lab 2022 unter anderem in Dakar, Nairobi und Island stattfinden. Read more

Read more
Performance/Artistic Intervention Decolonize

Opowu

UNEXPECTED LESSONS — Decolonizing Memory and Knowledge, 11. und 12. Juni 2021 in der Akademie der Künste, Berlin, in Nairobi und online. Poetry Performance »Opowu« von Stefanie-Lahya Aukongo (Poetin, Kuratorin, Sängerin) Read more

Read more
Decolonize Talk

Black (European) Studies

Das Panel über Black (European) Studies gibt einen Überblick über den aktuellen Stand und die Geschichte der Black Studies in Europa und Deutschland, auch in Bezug auf die Entwicklung der Black Studies in den Vereinigten Staaten. Mit Natasha Kelly, Peggy Piesche und Vanessa E. Thompson. Moderiert… Read more

Read more

Epistemic Shift in Memory and Knowledge

Da Erinnerung so oft aus nicht geschriebenen Texten entwickelt wird, sind diese Narrative wegen der Knappheit der Spuren schwieriger nachzuvollziehen, aber tief in den Ideologien, Praktiken und Politiken der Geschichtsverweigerer steckt eine ätherische und doch sehr reale Erinnerung, die zwar… Read more

Read more
Decolonize Talk

Unexpected Lessons – Welcome Remarks

„The Western archive is exhausted!“ sagt Felwine Sarr. Was kann Wissen heute sein, jenseits europäischer Wissenssysteme? Es braucht neue Perspektiven und Fragestellungen, um koloniale Denkmuster und eurozentristische, weiße Sichtweisen aufzubrechen, die tief im europäischen Kultur- und… Read more

Read more
Contemporary Art Knowledge Memory Talk

Who heals here?

UNEXPECTED LESSONS - Decolonizing Memory and Knowledge, 11. und 12. Juni 2021 in der Akademie der Künste, Berlin, in Nairobi und online. – Künstlerinnengespräch mit Elsa M'Bala, Nathalie Anguezomo Mba Bikoro und Magnus Elias Rosengarten (Moderation) Read more

Read more
African philosophy Archive (Archive practices) Knowledge Decolonize Memory

De-Westernization - On African Philosophy

Was bedeutet die "Dekolonisierung der Philosophie "? Ist die " Philosophie " der eigentliche Gegenstand einer solchen kritischen Operation?  Beitrag zur performativen Diskussionsveranstaltung UNEXPECTED LESSONS - Decolonizing Memory and Knowledge, 11. und 12. Juni 2021 in der Akademie der Künste,… Read more

Read more
Decolonize African philosophy Museum practices

Repenser l’histoire d’art

UNEXPECTED LESSONS – Decolonizing Memory and Knowledge, 11. und 12. Juni 2021 in der Akademie der Künste, Berlin, in Nairobi und online. Panel mit Bénédicte Savoy (Kunsthistorikerin), El Hadji Malick Ndiaye (Kunsthistoriker, Kurator) Moderation: Ibou Coulibaly Diop (Literaturwissenschaftler) Read more

Read more
Memory Knowledge Decolonize Objects (Re-Evaluation)

Coloniality and Education in Museums

Keynote der performativen Diskussionsveranstaltung UNEXPECTED LESSONS - Decolonizing Memory and Knowledge, 11. und 12. Juni 2021 in der Akademie der Künste, Berlin, in Nairobi und online. "Was sind das alles für Sachen?", fragt eine Siebenjährige in einem ethnografischen Museum die Vermittlerin… Read more

Read more
Knowledge Memory Talk Museum practices

Music, Knowledge and Transmission

Keynote der performativen Diskussionsveranstaltung UNEXPECTED LESSONS - Decolonizing Memory and Knowledge, 11. und 12. Juni 2021 in der Akademie der Künste, Berlin, in Nairobi und online. Read more

Read more
Memory Knowledge Museum practices Talk

Recreating Ecologies of Knowledge

Keynote Lecture der performativen Diskussionsveranstaltung UNEXPECTED LESSONS - Decolonizing Memory and Knowledge, 11. und 12. Juni 2021, in der Akademie der Künste, Berlin, in Nairobi und online. Read more

Read more
Archive (Archive practices) Knowledge Decolonize Performance/Artistic Intervention Talk

Interview mit El Hadji Malick Ndiaye

Im Vorfeld des zweitägigen Symposiums UNEXPECTED LESSONS, sprach Magnus Elias Rosengarten in Berlin mit dem Kunsthistoriker El Hadji Malick Ndiaye. Read more

Read more
Talk Objects (Re-Evaluation)

Interview mit Felwine Sarr

Im Vorfeld des zweitägigen Symposiums UNEXPECTED LESSONS, sprach Magnus Elias Rosengarten in Berlin mit dem Hauptredner Felwine Sarr. Read more

Read more
Objects (Re-Evaluation) Contemporary Art Museum practices Decolonize

Objekten zuhören

Objekte sind Dinge im Wandel. Read more

Read more
Knowledge Memory Museum practices Talk

Talking Objects

7. Juli, 19.00 Uhr. Ein Gespräch im Rahmen der Ausstellung „La lumière qui fait la bonheur…“ von Georges Adéagbo (28. März – 25. Juli 2021 im KINDL – Zentrum für zeitgenössische Kunst, Berlin). Read more

Read more
African philosophy Decolonize Memory Restitution Film

Video Talk: Nathalie Anguezomo Mba Bikoro & Magnus Elias Rosengarten

Read more

Read more

Das Imaginäre

Thematic tour with Jeanne Mizero Nzakizabandi

Das Imaginäre: Thematic tour with Jeanne Mizero Nzakizabandi (Art educator and curator, Frankfurt / Main). At KINDL – Centre for Contemporary Art (in the exhibition Ré-imaginer le passé, M2), Saturday, May 25. 14:00 h. Am Sudhaus 3, Berlin-Neukölln, In German. Free Admission + Registation needed. Read more

Read more

LES YEUX DE L'EAU - EXHIBITION @GAEC–Africa, Saint-Louis

18.05.2024 - 31.05.2024

As a partner in the development of the TALKING OBJECTS ARCHIVE, GAEC's project « Esprit des Objets - Objets des Esprit » deals with a collection of West African objects from the Musée Théodore Monod (Dakar) curated for the TALKING OBJECTS ARCHIVE. GAEC is establishing an exhibition « Les yeux de l'eau », which opens on 18 May in Saint Louis, followed by workshops on objects and their cosmologies on 21 and 22 May together with the TALKING OBJECTS team, neighbors, artists and thinkers. Read more

Read more

RÉ-IMAGINER LE PASSÉ

24.3.2024 - 28.7.2024

What futures are possible from our shared history? Which pasts deserve to be told? How can knowledge be questioned today? And why is knowledge a construction of world orders? These are the initial questions of the Ré-imaginer le passé project. Read more

Read more
Decolonize Essay Talk Exhibition

READING SESSION with C& Center of Unfinished Business

READING SESSION with C& Center of Unfinished Business. Moderated by Celina Baljeet Basra. At KINDL – Centre for Contemporary Art (in the exhibition Ré-imaginer le passé, M2), Friday, April 26, 18:00 h. Am Sudhaus 3, Berlin-Neukölln. In German and English. Free admission. Read more

Read more
Performance/Artistic Intervention Decolonize

OBEAH: resurrection

OBEAH: resurrection. Performance by Nathalie Anguezomo Mba Bikoro at KINDL – Centre for Contemporary Art (M0), Wednesday, April 3, 19:00 h. Am Sudhaus 3, Berlin-Neukölln. In German and English. Free admission Read more

Read more
Decolonize Exhibition Talk

The Concept of the Imaginary

Conversations with the artists and curators of the exhibition Ré-imaginer le passé at the KINDL – Centre for Contemporary Art. Sunday, March 24, 14.30-16.30 h, Am Sudhaus 3, Berlin-Neukölln, Free Admission. Read more

Read more
Decolonize Knowledge

LA PALABRE #4 - LEARNING LESSONS

20th October, 18.00 h @Vierte Welt, Kottbusser Tor. For the »LA PALABRE« series, from July-December 2023, we invite Berlin-based researchers*, artists*, and activists to discuss the issues we have been working on over the past two years as part of TALKING OBJECTS, an artistic research project on… Read more

Read more
Decolonize Memory Performance/Artistic Intervention Talk

Interactive Temporary Monument

TALKING OBJECTS LAB is invited to create a Temporary Monument at Kottbusser Tor, Berlin – using the space of an advertising column. APRIL 26 - MAY 5, 2022. Read more

Read more
Talk Performance/Artistic Intervention Objects (Re-Evaluation) Decolonize

PROGRAM PREVIEW 2022

Starting with an interactive temporary monument at Kottbusser Tor, in 2022, Talking Object Lab's polyphonous projects will take place in Dakar, Nairobi and in Iceland, amongst others. Read more

Read more
Performance/Artistic Intervention Decolonize

Opowu

UNEXPECTED LESSONS — Decolonizing Memory and Knowledge, June 11-12 2021 at Academy of the Arts, Berlin, in Nairobi and online. Poetry Performance »Opowu« by Stefanie-Lahya Aukongo (poet, curator, singer) Read more

Read more
Decolonize Talk

Black (European) Studies

The panel on Black (European) Studies surveys the current state as well as the history of Black Studies in Europe and Germany, also in relation to the evolution of Black Studies in the United States. With Natasha Kelly, Peggy Piesche and Vanessa E. Thompson. Moderated by Mahret Ifeoma Kupka. The… Read more

Read more

Epistemic Shift in Memory and Knowledge

Because memory is so often developed from non-written texts, these narratives are more difficult to trace because of the scarcity of traces, but deep in the ideologies, practices, and politics of those denied history is an ethereal yet very real memory that is un-stated but nonetheless dis-static.  … Read more

Read more
Decolonize Talk

Unexpected Lessons – Welcome Remarks

„The Western archive is exhausted!“ says Felwine Sarr. What can knowledge be today, beyond European knowledge systems? New perspectives and questions are needed in order to break up colonial thought patterns and challenge Eurocentric, white views that are deeply rooted in the European understanding… Read more

Read more
Contemporary Art Knowledge Memory Talk

Who heals here?

UNEXPECTED LESSONS – UNEXPECTED LESSONS – Decolonizing Memory and Knowledge, June 11-12 2021 at Academy of the Arts, Berlin, in Nairobi and online. - Artist talk with Elsa M'Bala, Nathalie Anguezomo Mba Bikoro and Magnus Elias Rosengarten (host) Read more

Read more
African philosophy Archive (Archive practices) Knowledge Decolonize Memory

De-Westernization - On African Philosophy

What does the “decolonization of philosophy » mean? Is « philosophy » the real object of such a critical operation? Lecture of the performative discussion event UNEXPECTED LESSONS – Decolonizing Memory and Knowledge, June 11-12 2021 at Academy of the Arts, Berlin, in Nairobi and online. Read more

Read more
Decolonize African philosophy Museum practices

Repenser l’histoire d’art

UNEXPECTED LESSONS – Decolonizing Memory and Knowledge, June 11-12 2021 at Academy of the Arts, Berlin, in Nairobi and online. Panel discussion with Bénédicte Savoy (Art historian), El Hadji Malick Ndiaye (Art historian, curator) Moderation: Ibou Coulibaly Diop (Literary scholar) Read more

Read more
Memory Knowledge Decolonize Objects (Re-Evaluation)

Coloniality and Education in Museums

Keynote lecture of the performative discussion event UNEXPECTED LESSONS – Decolonizing Memory and Knowledge, June 11-12 2021 at Academy of the Arts, Berlin, in Nairobi and online. “What are all of these things?” a seven-year-old in an ethnographic museum asks the facilitator on her way through the… Read more

Read more
Knowledge Memory Talk Museum practices

Music, Knowledge and Transmission

Keynote lecture of the performative discussion event UNEXPECTED LESSONS – Decolonizing Memory and Knowledge, June 11-12 2021 at Academy of the Arts, Berlin, in Nairobi and online. Read more

Read more
Memory Knowledge Museum practices Talk

Recreating Ecologies of Knowledge

Keynote lecture of the performative discussion event UNEXPECTED LESSONS – Decolonizing Memory and Knowledge, June 11-12 2021, at Academy of the Arts, Berlin, Nairobi and online. Read more

Read more
Archive (Archive practices) Knowledge Decolonize Performance/Artistic Intervention Talk

Interview with El Hadji Malick Ndiaye

Ahead of the two-day symposium UNEXPECTED LESSONS, Magnus Elias Rosengarten talked to art historian El Hadji Malick Ndiaye in Berlin. Read more

Read more
Talk Objects (Re-Evaluation)

Interview with Felwine Sarr

Ahead of the two-day symposium UNEXPECTED LESSONS, Magnus Elias Rosengarten talked to keynote speaker Felwine Sarr in Berlin. Read more

Read more
Objects (Re-Evaluation) Contemporary Art Museum practices Decolonize

Listening to Objects

Objects are things in transition. Read more

Read more
Knowledge Memory Museum practices Talk

Talking Objects

July 7, 7 pm. A talk in the frame of the exhibition "La lumière qui fait la bonheur..." by Georges Adéagbo (28 March - 25 July 2021 at KINDL — Centre for Contemporary Art, Berlin). Read more

Read more
African philosophy Decolonize Memory Restitution Film

Video Talk: Nathalie Anguezomo Mba Bikoro & Magnus Elias Rosengarten

Read more

Read more